Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
HomeAnnouncements
Discussion Groups
By Brand
BMWChevroletDodgeFordGMHondaLexusMercedes-BenzNissanPeugeotToyotaVolkswagenOther Brands
By Topic
4x4 CarsRVsDrivingMaintenance & RepairCar AudioCollectible Cars
Country Specific
Australian ForumsUK Forums
ArticlesAuto InsuranceBuyingCars & TechnologyMaintenanceMiscellaneousSafety
DMV Resources
Related Topics
MotorcyclesBoatsMore Topics ...

Car Forum / Australian Car Forums / General Car Topics (Australian group) / March 2006

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Reverse Number Lookup

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Rod Speed - 30 Mar 2006 04:54 GMT
Is this for real?
http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
Jock - 30 Mar 2006 05:03 GMT
a .ru domain??
Fscked if I would go there.
Jock

| Is this for real?
| http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
Michael C - 30 Mar 2006 06:17 GMT
> Is this for real?
> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au

Who pays for all the calls?
Steve Magee - 30 Mar 2006 08:22 GMT
> Is this for real?
> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au

Its a .ru domain, so avoid like the plague, but...

Yes, reverse directories do exist. When I worked for Social Security (now
Centrelink, and i finished up 8 yrs ago so no questions or complaints pls
:-) ), there was a CD with revese directory on it. It was guarded pretty
well and you had to have a reason to use it - a real reason, to do with a
case - but it was useful. It was Aust only, not the world though.

Steve
Uncle Bully - 30 Mar 2006 09:39 GMT
>> Is this for real?
>> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
> well and you had to have a reason to use it - a real reason, to do with a
> case - but it was useful. It was Aust only, not the world though.

I've seen a cracked whitepages database floating around which essentially
does the same thing. Hardly ASIO type stuff...
John_H - 30 Mar 2006 10:50 GMT
>Yes, reverse directories do exist. When I worked for Social Security (now
>Centrelink, and i finished up 8 yrs ago so no questions or complaints pls
>:-) ), there was a CD with revese directory on it. It was guarded pretty
>well and you had to have a reason to use it - a real reason, to do with a
>case - but it was useful. It was Aust only, not the world though.

DtMS marketed one until Tesltra managed to close them down a couple of
years back.

The one I have installed on my system is May 2003.  Cost around $80 at
the time I bought it.

Signature

John H

The Red Krawler - 30 Mar 2006 11:51 GMT
> DtMS marketed one until Tesltra managed to close them down a couple of
> years back.
> The one I have installed on my system is May 2003.  Cost around $80 at
> the time I bought it.

Be a chum and torrent that ISO would you? :)
budgie - 30 Mar 2006 12:53 GMT
>> DtMS marketed one until Tesltra managed to close them down a couple of
>> years back.
>> The one I have installed on my system is May 2003.  Cost around $80 at
>> the time I bought it.
>
>Be a chum and torrent that ISO would you? :)

A bit too dated.  July '04 (the last one) is out there.  And in another thread a
couple of weeks back is reference to a (non-DTMS) one from ~Nov '05.
Michael C - 30 Mar 2006 12:04 GMT
> Yes, reverse directories do exist. When I worked for Social Security (now
> Centrelink, and i finished up 8 yrs ago so no questions or complaints pls
> :-) ), there was a CD with revese directory on it. It was guarded pretty
> well and you had to have a reason to use it - a real reason, to do with a
> case - but it was useful. It was Aust only, not the world though.

We're in trouble if the govt is guarding an $80 cd. :-)

Michael
Steve Magee - 30 Mar 2006 13:54 GMT
> We're in trouble if the govt is guarding an $80 cd. :-)
>
> Michael
You obviously dont understand politics. :-)

If such a device was used indiscriminately, the media (maybe not the Daily
Torygraph seeing as its a Lib federal govt) would howl and moan about
privacy and invasion of personal liberty etc etc etc. Even worse, they would
contact an MP for comment - good ( for the opposition), bad (for the govt).
Now, those -ah - respected elected - want to keep their snout in the trough.
And such stories might hurt their re-election chances.

So, sod protecting AWB contracts from kickbacks to Saddam, or whatever. $300
million is nowhere near as important as keeping said person in power. So -
shackle the $80 CD with security worthy of the ONA's mainframe.

Steve
Democracy is dead, long live the Murdochracy! (Piers Ackermann)
Michael C - 30 Mar 2006 14:11 GMT
>> We're in trouble if the govt is guarding an $80 cd. :-)
>>
> You obviously dont understand politics. :-)

You obviously don't understand humour.

Michael
FRAN - 30 Mar 2006 09:56 GMT
> Is this for real?
> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au

I just used a dummy email address to test it and within minutes a whole
bunch of spam turned up.

What a surprise.

Fran
Jock - 30 Mar 2006 10:29 GMT
| > Is this for real?
| > http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
[quoted text clipped - 5 lines]
|
| Fran

I was shocked and awed to read of this.  not.
Jock
Michael C - 30 Mar 2006 12:04 GMT
>> Is this for real?
>> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
>
> I just used a dummy email address to test it and within minutes a whole
> bunch of spam turned up.

If you used a dummy email address how did the spam turn up?

> What a surprise.
>
> Fran
FRAN - 30 Mar 2006 13:02 GMT
> >> Is this for real?
> >> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
> >
> > Fran

It was "dummy" in that it was one set up purely to see what would
happen, rather than one I was ever planning to use.

Fran
TPr - 30 Mar 2006 11:56 GMT
sure is, you can purchase the black pages on cdrom here locally, its used
for telemarketing and shows ALL customers weather private or otherwise.

| Is this for real?
| http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
What The - 30 Mar 2006 12:15 GMT
i use DTMS. now out of business but works extremely well for those people
who are stupid enough to prank call with caller id enabled.

> Is this for real?
> http://home.c99.ru/blackpages/reverselookup.com.au
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.