Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
HomeAnnouncements
Discussion Groups
By Brand
BMWChevroletDodgeFordGMHondaLexusMercedes-BenzNissanPeugeotToyotaVolkswagenOther Brands
By Topic
4x4 CarsRVsDrivingMaintenance & RepairCar AudioCollectible Cars
Country Specific
Australian ForumsUK Forums
ArticlesAuto InsuranceBuyingCars & TechnologyMaintenanceMiscellaneousSafety
DMV Resources
Related Topics
MotorcyclesBoatsMore Topics ...

Car Forum / Citroen Cars / July 2005

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

new website for aac

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
2Rowdy - 23 Jun 2005 22:05 GMT
You might have read it in
news:47aefe4a365c0561c530d93cb338ed1f@nntp.aacit.net
I have some problems with my old host (fastwebsites.com aka
namecow.com) and I can't resolve that.
I want to continue promoting this newsgroup so I have found a new host
and a new domain name.
DNS is slow so if the link doesn't work, try again tomorrow.
This is your new website:
www.aacity.net

I someone knows how I can get *my* domain (www.aacit.net) back from
those Canadians without giving in to ransom, let me know.
I have a lot of work to do, for you. Mail everyone that links to
www.aacit.net and request to update their links. Some help is much
appreciated. If you have a Citroen related website please consider
including a link to www.aacity.net

Oh, and it's still as boring as it was before.

Enjoy.
Signature

d:Johan; Certifiable me

Click -[ HERE ]- to continue.....

Frank Kemper - 27 Jun 2005 21:55 GMT
"2Rowdy" <harry131313@gmail.com> haute in die Tasten:

> Enjoy.

Hi Johan, on your page you provided some links for people to learn
how to access usenet newsgroups, and you asked for assistance to find
appropriate links for users of other languages.

The german users should klick to http://news.individual.de/

This is the largest independend newsgroup server for Germany, it is
run by the staff of the Technical University Berlin. Unfortunately
they have stopped providing this service for free to the publc. Non-
scientific use is now charged with 10 Euros per year - which I find
very reasonable for the good service.

If anybody is interested: Another link, it shows my Xantia at the
stellite relais station in Raisting/Bavaria

http://www.photosphere.info/page-0002.htm

Frank

Signature

please replace spam-muelleimer with fk-newsgroups for e-mail contact

Citroen - Made in Trance

2Rowdy - 28 Jun 2005 17:20 GMT
Message i.d.:<news:Xns9682E9386AFE5eldosampleman@130.133.1.18>,
by author Frank Kemper aka <spam-muelleimer@gmx.de> inspired me,
> "2Rowdy" <harry131313@gmail.com> haute in die Tasten:
>
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
> scientific use is now charged with 10 Euros per year - which I find
> very reasonable for the good service.

I forgot. I know Individual as Cis.dfn. I'll change that. Thanks.

> If anybody is interested: Another link, it shows my Xantia at the
> stellite relais station in Raisting/Bavaria
>
> http://www.photosphere.info/page-0002.htm

Great picture.
I tried "frank kemper"in google pictures. It came up with your hybrid
Xantia/ BMW picture as #1. But that links to the old website (that is
not available anymore).
Signature

d:Johan; Certifiable me; http://www.aacity.net

[18 lines]

[Press ENTER to retrieve this message.]
[Press M to mark this message for later retrieval.]

2Rowdy - 01 Jul 2005 21:58 GMT
Message i.d.:<news:5047324be48282d0bf71cecfa3f502c7@nntp.aacit.net>,
by author 2Rowdy aka <harry131313@gmail.com> inspired me,
> You might have read it in
> news:47aefe4a365c0561c530d93cb338ed1f@nntp.aacit.net
> I have some problems with my old host (fastwebsites.com aka
> namecow.com) and I can't resolve that.

Had a message from Namecow.com afa Fastwebsites.com.
<quote>
Your domain has expired, and very soon it will be in redemption, on
July
11/05. At that time it will cost $250USD to bail your domain out of
Internet Jail. At this moment the cost is $9.95 USD. As a courtesy we
are
informing you of your options. If the domain is important to you. We
suggest that you arrange for payment asap.
</quote>

What should I name it randsom or hyjacking?
Are namecow.com and fastwebsites.com realy blacklisted by credit card
companies?
Signature

d:Johan; Certifiable me
http://www.aacity.net

No, I am not demented,
                                             just gray haired

Adrian - 02 Jul 2005 09:40 GMT
> <quote>
> Your domain has expired, and very soon it will be in redemption, on
> July 11/05. At that time it will cost $250USD to bail your domain out of
> Internet Jail. At this moment the cost is $9.95 USD.

"Your domain name has expired, and very shortly we'll be able to get our
paws on it. As soon as we can, we'll register it ourselves then try to sell
it back to you. Alternatively, you can give us some money now to prevent us
having to spend any money ourselves."

> What should I name it randsom or hyjacking?

"Extortion"?

> Are namecow.com and fastwebsites.com realy blacklisted by credit card
> companies?

If they are, that tells you ALL you need to know about if they're good
people to do business with.
dvus - 02 Jul 2005 14:13 GMT
>> <quote>
>> Your domain has expired, and very soon it will be in redemption, on
[quoted text clipped - 15 lines]
> If they are, that tells you ALL you need to know about if they're good
> people to do business with.

I don't get it. $9.95 seems like a fair price to keep a domain, as long as
it's not something they charge too frequently. What do others pay for them?

Most of you know I don't keep up on all the technical aspects of this stuff,
is Rowdy being extorted, and if so, what can he do?

Signature

dvus

DE - 02 Jul 2005 15:01 GMT
>>><quote>
>>>Your domain has expired, and very soon it will be in redemption, on
[quoted text clipped - 21 lines]
> Most of you know I don't keep up on all the technical aspects of this stuff,
> is Rowdy being extorted, and if so, what can he do?

Adrian has it pegged.

No, $9.95 is pretty much the going rate ... but he needs to get it
paid ASAP as it's in the 30-day redemption period.  What they are
threatening is, as he said, to buy it up if 2Rowdy doesn't pay it off
on time, then charge him whatever they want to buy it back from him.
IOW, they're squatters making a bet that he'll want it ... but they
are warning him.

He doesn't need to deal with them;  he can reg. it elsewhere, with any
registrar he wants to use, for that same $9.95 likely ... but the
squatters *will* grab it if he doesn't move to save it.

-- DE
2Rowdy - 02 Jul 2005 23:03 GMT
Message i.d.:<news:42c6978e$0$22358$8f2e0ebb@news.shared-secrets.com>,
by author DE aka <nowhere@all.disorg> inspired me,

>>>> <quote>
>>>> Your domain has expired, and very soon it will be in redemption,
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
>>>
>>> "Extortion"?

You made me look it up :-)

>>>> Are namecow.com and fastwebsites.com realy blacklisted by credit
>>>> card companies?
[quoted text clipped - 13 lines]
> No, $9.95 is pretty much the going rate ... but he needs to get it
> paid ASAP as it's in the 30-day redemption period.

I can't pay them. Unless by international money order which I won't.
My credit card, internationally accepted, is not accepted by them.
Odd.

> What they are
> threatening is, as he said, to buy it up if 2Rowdy doesn't pay it
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
> He doesn't need to deal with them;  he can reg. it elsewhere, with
> any registrar he wants to use,

No. They have locked it and only they, and no-one else, can unlock it.
My new, Belgian, registrar has tried it but couldn't. That's why I
have registered the new name, like the old but with a litte twist at
the end.

> for that same $9.95 likely ... but
> the squatters *will* grab it if he doesn't move to save it.

Canadians. Good people, but sometimes a bit strange.
<you are not looking Zoe, are you? >
Signature

d:Johan; Certifiable me; http://www.aacity.net

[rest of sig scrapped due to foul language]

DE - 02 Jul 2005 23:52 GMT
> Message i.d.:<news:42c6978e$0$22358$8f2e0ebb@news.shared-secrets.com>,
> by author DE aka <nowhere@all.disorg> inspired me,
[quoted text clipped - 52 lines]
> have registered the new name, like the old but with a litte twist at
> the end.

Uh, registrars are not supposed to lock domains that way;  they are
supposed to lock them only at YOUR instructions and then you are
supposed to have the ability to unlock it.

>>for that same $9.95 likely ... but
>>the squatters *will* grab it if he doesn't move to save it.
>
> Canadians. Good people, but sometimes a bit strange.
> <you are not looking Zoe, are you? >

Don't think Zoe's been around for a while .....

Contact me by email, willya?

-- DE
<mailto:anything@intranet-works.com>
(substitute anything you want for "anything")
2Rowdy - 03 Jul 2005 00:17 GMT
Message i.d.:<news:42c713dc$0$22401$8f2e0ebb@news.shared-secrets.com>,
by author DE aka <nowhere@all.disorg> inspired me,

>>> He doesn't need to deal with them;  he can reg. it elsewhere, with
>>> any registrar he wants to use,
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
> supposed to lock them only at YOUR instructions and then you are
> supposed to have the ability to unlock it.

They are willing to unlock it *after* they have received a money order
of $10.
Signature

d:Johan; Certifiable me
http://www.aacity.net

Sig is being randomised, pls wait . . . .

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.