Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
HomeAnnouncements
Discussion Groups
By Brand
BMWChevroletDodgeFordGMHondaLexusMercedes-BenzNissanPeugeotToyotaVolkswagenOther Brands
By Topic
4x4 CarsRVsDrivingMaintenance & RepairCar AudioCollectible Cars
Country Specific
Australian ForumsUK Forums
ArticlesAuto InsuranceBuyingCars & TechnologyMaintenanceMiscellaneousSafety
DMV Resources
Related Topics
MotorcyclesBoatsMore Topics ...

Car Forum / MINI / February 2004

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Mini on ebay

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
stuart henry - 30 Jan 2004 05:41 GMT
Gday all
Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia.  Item
number: 2457370376

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2457370376&category=35
227

Is it a real cooper? Cooper parts can be seen but that means nothing.Can
someone decode the data?
Olive green, manual, 2dr, 4sp, 1.3 litre engine, leather interior. Car in
good condition, engine runs well! A Great looking classic! Rego: YGT436.
Engine: N823215P. Chassis: YG2542669.

Also says its a 1998 model.Must be a very late production model!

SEE YA

STUART
me - 30 Jan 2004 08:22 GMT
Won't go very fast - its not red :)

That engine number ?   Has that been re issued ?

> Gday all
>  Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia.  Item
[quoted text clipped - 14 lines]
>
>  STUART
Graham W - 30 Jan 2004 14:21 GMT
> Gday all
>  Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia. <http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2457370376&category=35227>

>  Is it a real cooper? Cooper parts can be seen but that means nothing.
> Can someone decode the data?
> Olive green, manual, 2dr, 4sp, 1.3 litre engine, leather interior.
> Car in good condition, engine runs well! A Great looking classic! Rego:
> YGT436. Engine: N823215P. Chassis: YG2542669.

Thats not a correct engine number.

They don't seem to have decided if it's a Cooper (997cc or 998cc) or a
Cooper S (1275cc, not quite 1300cc) either.

> Also says its a 1998 model.Must be a very late production model!

Pretty obviously it's an Australian production car from between about
1965 and 1970, since it has wind down windows and quarterlights, and
early type door handles.

The seller describes himself: "Cash King is a respected motor dealer..."
and "Cash King is a pawnbroker" - but not a licensed motor car trader.
They are apparently selling "on behalf of the owner (private sale) to
cover all costs incurred", which presumably means to cover a loan which
has not been repaid. The owner may not actually have any input into the
vehicle description, etc, and the starting price is probably the amount
he was loaned against the car.

So it might actually be the real thing and a bargain...
me - 31 Jan 2004 01:20 GMT
If you look at the rear view its a BRG with white roof The lighting and
camera may have made it a different colour.

No bonnet badge

Leyland steering wheel

Road wheels seem narrow

Tail lights early type

You would have to have a closer personal inspection of the car to see
what has been done as it does appear to have been "restored" and not
completely finished.

> Gday all
>  Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia.  Item
[quoted text clipped - 14 lines]
>
>  STUART
Some Dang Fool - 31 Jan 2004 09:29 GMT
This Mini was listed on ebay a few weeks back and was removed after a couple
of days and has now been re listed. The bloke that is listing it is a
pawnbroker, my guess is that he lists it on ebay to get the owner to make a
repayment and when he gets a payment he removes the ad, if he does not get a
payment he sells the car.

The car looks like an Australian Mk 2 Cooper S and it looks good!
The body prefix should be YG2S4 **** and he list it as YG2542669 so it is
close and he may have misread the S as a 5.
The steering wheel is the right one and when did you last see a Cooper with
the standard wheel?
It has no badges and the engine number looks like an RTA issued one, maybe
they milled the number off the top of the block (mine is almost gone)

If it is genuine it is very good!

Michael.

> Gday all
>  Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia.  Item
> number: 2457370376

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2457370376&category=35
> 227
>
[quoted text clipped - 9 lines]
>
>  STUART
me - 31 Jan 2004 13:24 GMT
> This Mini was listed on ebay a few weeks back and was removed after a couple
> of days and has now been re listed. The bloke that is listing it is a
[quoted text clipped - 13 lines]
>
> Michael.

If you bought it at that price it would be a good buy.

What about the year advertised?

>>Gday all
>> Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia.  Item
[quoted text clipped - 15 lines]
>>
>> STUART
stuart henry - 01 Feb 2004 02:14 GMT
its a 1970 or so they told me...
STUART

> > This Mini was listed on ebay a few weeks back and was removed after a couple
> > of days and has now been re listed. The bloke that is listing it is a
[quoted text clipped - 21 lines]
> >> Anyone know anything about the "morris cooper" on ebay australia.  Item
> >>number: 2457370376

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2457370376&category=35

> >>227
> >>
[quoted text clipped - 9 lines]
> >>
> >> STUART
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.