Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
HomeAnnouncements
Discussion Groups
By Brand
BMWChevroletDodgeFordGMHondaLexusMercedes-BenzNissanPeugeotToyotaVolkswagenOther Brands
By Topic
4x4 CarsRVsDrivingMaintenance & RepairCar AudioCollectible Cars
Country Specific
Australian ForumsUK Forums
ArticlesAuto InsuranceBuyingCars & TechnologyMaintenanceMiscellaneousSafety
DMV Resources
Related Topics
MotorcyclesBoatsMore Topics ...

Car Forum / Porsche / Porshe 944 / September 2007

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Caution: Scammer working this site!

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Jim - 12 Sep 2007 03:00 GMT
A while back, I posted a message announcing that I had a '82 Porsche 924 Turbo that I was parting out. I just got a response that I strongly believe is from a scammer.
Below is his email to me. You be the judge:

His first email:
"Goodday to you,I am Mr Markson from the UK.I was surfing the web and i saw your advert placement of your item for sale so i decided to get intouch with you to letting you know that i am interested in purchasing it.Please get back to me with the last price you had wish to sell it, the picture if available, and the present condition of it.Hope to hear from you soonest.God Bless"

I replied to him with the following:
" Please note that “parting out” means that I am selling the car piece by piece. The car has been completely disassembled. Even the engine is torn completely down. So, if you wanted to buy, say the left front fender, or the right door, or the alternator, etc. then I could help you out, but I can’t sell the car as a complete car.
Sorry.
Jim"

His second email to me is where the scam kicks in:
" Thanks for the mail,i am interested in purchasing it.but it might interest you that my client will be sending a sum of $2500 to you where i will want you to remove $50 from it $25 for the alternatior and the other $25 for the cleaning and packaging of the alternator.You will then help me send a balance of $2450 via western union money transfer to my shipping agent who will come to your location for the pick up since i will be handling the shipping myself.So please get back to me with the following information so that payment will be sent asap.
NAME...................
FULL CONTACT ADDRESS.....................
ZIP CODE................
PHONE NUMBER................
Hope to hear from you soonest. "

Sure looks like a scam to me. The name he used is Eddy Markson and his email address is eddymarkson101@yahoo.co.uk

To be forewarned is to be forearmed.

Signature

I put junk in my email address to evade the spammers.
Please take the junk out before replying.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
Jim

William Noble - 12 Sep 2007 07:26 GMT
if you hunt around, you will find a site of letters and photos of folks who
get their jollies by scamming the scammers - some of it is pretty funny.

from that site  you can learn all sorts of ways of making them spend $$, a
few made me laugh (like the one where they convince one such person to get a
large ugly tatoo on their arm

A while back, I posted a message announcing that I had a '82 Porsche 924
Turbo that I was parting out. I just got a response that I strongly believe
is from a scammer.
Below is his email to me. You be the judge:

His first email:
"Goodday to you,I am Mr Markson from the UK.I was surfing the web and i saw
your advert placement of your item for sale so i decided to get intouch with
you to letting you know that i am interested in purchasing it.Please get
back to me with the last price you had wish to sell it, the picture if
available, and the present condition of it.Hope to hear from you soonest.God
Bless"

I replied to him with the following:
" Please note that “parting out” means that I am selling the car piece by
piece. The car has been completely disassembled. Even the engine is torn
completely down. So, if you wanted to buy, say the left front fender, or the
right door, or the alternator, etc. then I could help you out, but I can’t
sell the car as a complete car.
Sorry.
Jim"

His second email to me is where the scam kicks in:
" Thanks for the mail,i am interested in purchasing it.but it might interest
you that my client will be sending a sum of $2500 to you where i will want
you to remove $50 from it $25 for the alternatior and the other $25 for the
cleaning and packaging of the alternator.You will then help me send a
balance of $2450 via western union money transfer to my shipping agent who
will come to your location for the pick up since i will be handling the
shipping myself.So please get back to me with the following information so
that payment will be sent asap.
NAME...................
FULL CONTACT ADDRESS.....................
ZIP CODE................
PHONE NUMBER................
Hope to hear from you soonest. "

Sure looks like a scam to me. The name he used is Eddy Markson and his email
address is eddymarkson101@yahoo.co.uk

To be forewarned is to be forearmed.

Signature

I put junk in my email address to evade the spammers.
Please take the junk out before replying.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
Jim

--
Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2009 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.