Car Forum / Saab Cars / May 2005
scam
|
|
Thread rating:  |
Tom Reingold - 20 Apr 2005 22:18 GMT I listed my Saab for sale in NJ (USA) on saabnet.com and got a suspicious email. The writer's English was bad. He asked if he could send a cashier's check (alarm bells!). Then he claimed he was in New Zealand! I suspected and then confirmed that New Zealand requires all cars to be right hand drive. I replied to him with the web page I found, and his ISP said his account is de-activated.
Not that I would have fallen for this guy, but it was still a bit creepy.
 Signature Tom Reingold Noo Joizy
MH - 20 Apr 2005 22:19 GMT > I listed my Saab for sale in NJ (USA) on saabnet.com and got a > suspicious email. The writer's English was bad. He asked if he could > send a cashier's check (alarm bells!). .... See the article on TSN http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/class/scam/
-- MH '72 97 '77 96 '78 95 '79 96 '91 900i 16 http://go.to/saab96
Tom Reingold - 20 Apr 2005 22:57 GMT > See the article on TSN > http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/class/scam/ Yeah, I read that about a year ago, and that is why I knew so quickly this was a scam.
 Signature Tom Reingold Noo Joizy
Malt_Hound - 21 Apr 2005 13:52 GMT >> See the article on TSN >> http://www.saabnet.com/tsn/class/scam/ > > Yeah, I read that about a year ago, and that is why I knew so quickly > this was a scam. I have sold 2 different cars on SAABnet. Curiously, the one that drew the most scam activity was the 1992 9000T I listed for around $4k. I got no less than 6 scam attempts on that one, all of them as easy to spot as could be. Even if I had not read the warnings, it was blatant. Makes me wonder what sort of fools would fall for this crap...
The second car was a 2000 900SET Convertible. It had a *much* higher asking price ($15,900 as I recall) and did not draw a single nigerian email. I guess they figure the lower priced guys are somehow more apt to fall for their scam?
The best one was the eBay ad for a BMW M3 with some ridiculously low buy-it-now price. The story that guy gave me by email was hilarious. The car was in europe and had to be transported back to the US.
I'm fairly sure that he did not even own the car, but had just taken a couple of pictures of one along the side of the road.
-Fred W
Dave Hinz - 21 Apr 2005 15:23 GMT
> I have sold 2 different cars on SAABnet. Curiously, the one that drew > the most scam activity was the 1992 9000T I listed for around $4k. I > got no less than 6 scam attempts on that one, all of them as easy to > spot as could be. Even if I had not read the warnings, it was blatant. > Makes me wonder what sort of fools would fall for this crap... I wonder why 'whazzizname the banninator' tolerates that sort of thing. You'd think he'd block them by IP so they can't use his board.
Malt_Hound - 21 Apr 2005 16:02 GMT > > [quoted text clipped - 7 lines] > You'd think he'd block them by IP so they can't use his board. > It doesn't work that way, Dave. The Classifieds are viewable to any and all, no login or account required. They just reply to the ad by regular email.
The banning takes place only on that web site's message boards, which do require a user account, hence the ability to ban.
-Fred W
Dave Hinz - 21 Apr 2005 18:14 GMT >> >> [quoted text clipped - 10 lines] > all, no login or account required. They just reply to the ad by regular > email. I understand that, but blocking website visitors by IP address is trivially easy. Not that I'm offering to help _him_ do it, mind you. It's just an observation that he seems selective in what he does something about.
> The banning takes place only on that web site's message boards, which do > require a user account, hence the ability to ban. I can even serve different content to people if they're coming from one particular ISP, or one particular browser, or OS, or anything really. The user-agent string gives a LOT of useful information, and the IP address can be used to, say, give people from a certain ISP slower response (fewer available connections or throttled bandwidth), or to give them an alternate site, or to deny access entirely.
Lots of stuff to play with at the webserver layer. But, scuze me, I need to go play with _our_ webserver layer now...
Dave
Craig's Saab C900 Site - 22 Apr 2005 14:45 GMT >> I have sold 2 different cars on SAABnet. Curiously, the one that drew >> the most scam activity was the 1992 9000T I listed for around $4k. I >> got no less than 6 scam attempts on that one, all of them as easy to >> spot as could be. Even if I had not read the warnings, it was blatant. >> Makes me wonder what sort of fools would fall for this crap...
>I wonder why 'whazzizname the banninator' tolerates that sort of thing. >You'd think he'd block them by IP so they can't use his board. Especially since he blocks plenty of other people by IP address (which in my case locks out the entire user base of APANA Sydney who also make use of the proxy server that I run for APANA and which I use myself), and most of these seem to be legitimate posters who broke the 'rules' which are there to protect the interests of the commercial advertisers.
Craig.
 Signature Craig's Saab C900 Page --> http://lios.apana.org.au/~c900 Sydney, NSW Australia Craig's Saab C900 Workshop -- For all Saab C900 Enthusiasts world-wide! http://www.saab900classic.net http://www.saab900.org c900@lios.apana.org.au Come and explore our site, and check out our web-forums, mailing list, etc.
James Sweet - 23 Apr 2005 05:04 GMT > Especially since he blocks plenty of other people by IP address (which in my > case locks out the entire user base of APANA Sydney who also make use of the > proxy server that I run for APANA and which I use myself), and most of these > seem to be legitimate posters who broke the 'rules' which are there to > protect the interests of the commercial advertisers. What rules?
Craig's Saab C900 Site - 23 Apr 2005 07:15 GMT >> Especially since he blocks plenty of other people by IP address (which in >my [quoted text clipped - 4 lines] >> seem to be legitimate posters who broke the 'rules' which are there to >> protect the interests of the commercial advertisers.
>What rules? They're in the Saabnet 'mission statement' I think. I've got it linked using the 'URL of misfortune' logo (!) on my personal C900 site at "http://lios.apana.org.au/~c900".
Regards,
Craig.
 Signature Craig's Saab C900 Page --> http://lios.apana.org.au/~c900 Sydney, NSW Australia Craig's Saab C900 Workshop -- For all Saab C900 Enthusiasts world-wide! http://www.saab900classic.net http://www.saab900.org c900@lios.apana.org.au Come and explore our site, and check out our web-forums, mailing list, etc.
darthpup - 23 Apr 2005 15:33 GMT PT Barnum " a sucker is born every minute"
yaofeng - 20 Apr 2005 22:30 GMT I have a car on sale in Autotrader. Two almost identical scams occurred. First a guy said he will buy it for the full asking price. Said he'll send me a few thousand dollars more than the asking price but asked me to deposit the difference to his account first. Am I dumb or what? When I replied he is not getting a cent from me without me seeing the money first, silence ensued. The second guy, claiming to be a Reverend buying the car for his church, has an email address based in the UK, doing a similar trick. Now why would anyone buy a beat up 86 BMW in the US and ship it across the pond to drive on the wrong side of the road?
James Sweet - 21 Apr 2005 04:31 GMT > I listed my Saab for sale in NJ (USA) on saabnet.com and got a > suspicious email. The writer's English was bad. He asked if he could [quoted text clipped - 4 lines] > > Not that I would have fallen for this guy, but it was still a bit creepy. Those happen all the time, not just on saabnet.
I am surprised though that all cars HAVE to be RHD in New Zealand, what about collectible cars?
Craig's Saab C900 Site - 22 Apr 2005 14:41 GMT >I listed my Saab for sale in NJ (USA) on saabnet.com and got a >suspicious email. The writer's English was bad. He asked if he could >send a cashier's check (alarm bells!). Then he claimed he was in New >Zealand! I suspected and then confirmed that New Zealand requires all >cars to be right hand drive. I replied to him with the web page I found, >and his ISP said his account is de-activated. NZ like Australia is a RHD country.
>Not that I would have fallen for this guy, but it was still a bit creepy. Agreed. I've had strange contacts from people trying to buy stuff through my Ebay listings (not Saab bits fortunately - usually computer parts).
Regards,
Craig.
 Signature Craig's Saab C900 Page --> http://lios.apana.org.au/~c900 Sydney, NSW Australia Craig's Saab C900 Workshop -- For all Saab C900 Enthusiasts world-wide! http://www.saab900classic.net http://www.saab900.org c900@lios.apana.org.au Come and explore our site, and check out our web-forums, mailing list, etc.
Tom Reingold - 04 May 2005 21:27 GMT >>I listed my Saab for sale in NJ (USA) on saabnet.com and got a >>suspicious email. The writer's English was bad. He asked if he could [quoted text clipped - 4 lines] > > NZ like Australia is a RHD country. That's what I said. That's why I checked to see if NZ's government requires cars to be RHD, and it does.
>>Not that I would have fallen for this guy, but it was still a bit creepy. > [quoted text clipped - 4 lines] > > Craig. Yup. As someone else said, you are more likely to be contacted if the asking prices is low. And the people talk about what a good price it is, indicating they are scammers or don't know the general value of the car. They try to write with emphasis, but it's clear they are not native English speakers.
Tom
|
|
|