Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have had
numerous inquiries and received this follow up email the other nite after an
initial request for pictures and a bottom line price. I know it sounds
fishy, but just can't see where the catch is. We have seen these types of
scams before like I will send you a $100000 cheque just put it in your bank
and send me $10000. My pessimistic thought is to ignore the whole thing or
reply send the pick up agent with the $ when he comes to view the car. Is
this type of thing going on in the classic car market. First clue BTW got my
name wrong.
Cheers
Jim
Dear Mike,
Thank you for getting back at me.Hope you are good today?I am sorry for the
delay, my customer was out of town and just returned.I called my customer as
soon as he returned and he was much impressed with the condition of your
car.I am happy to inform you that we have concluded with our customer.He
said that I should inform you that the payment will get to you in a cashier
check of ($30,000 usd) which he made out before traveling to Australia today
for a business trip.
You are required to deduct cost of your Vehicle [ $23,000usd ],when the
payment gets to you and refund balance of [ $7,000usd ]to my customer's
shipping agent through International Money Gram Transfer , for the shipping
agent to be able to offset shipping charges and any other related charges.
After payment has reached you and balance sent back to his shipping agent -
the shipper will contact the PICKUP AGENT-who will come for the pick up of
the vehicle to be shipped to my client.While the title papers and any other
documents invole will be sent by you to my client via courier service.
THE PICK UP AGENT WILL BE TAKING CARE OF THE EXPENSES AND ANY OTHER
COMMISSION CHARGES. PICKUP NOTICE: MY CLIENT INSTRUCTED THAT THE PICKUP
AGENT WILL BE COMING TO YOUR AREA OF LOCATION WITH SOMEONE WHO IS GOING TO
TEST DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND CHECK THE RECENT CONDITION OF THE VEHICLE .AS
SOON AS YOU RECEIVE THE PAYMENT PACKAGE;
NOTE: MY CLIENT ADVISED THAT YOU ARE EXPECTED TO DEDUCT THE TRANSFER
CHARGES FROM THE REMAINING BALANCE YOU ARE TO TRANSFER TO THE SHIPPER
VIA INTERNATIONAL MONEY GRAM TRANSFER;
Please Confirm this and provide the following details below for check
payment to be delivered to you via Royal Registered mail.
PAYMENT INFORMATION:
1.LEGAL NAME IN FULL.......
2.ADDRESS..............
3.DIRECT PHONE NUMBER(S)...........
Regards.
Henry Brown.
Oujdeivß - 16 Jun 2005 11:36 GMT
Inform them that you will deposit the cheque for collection, and when
the funds are available, then and only then will the transaction proceed.
> Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have had
> numerous inquiries and received this follow up email the other nite after an
[quoted text clipped - 40 lines]
> Regards.
> Henry Brown.

Signature
WTF is Oujdeivß?
http://bible.crosswalk.com/Lexicons/Greek/grk.cgi?number=3762&version=kjv
to contact me try Oudeis via softhome.net
Mark Anderson - 16 Jun 2005 11:38 GMT
Of course it's a scam. You'll get a $30,000 cashiers check, you'll deposit
it, you'll send him $7,000 back and about 2-4 weeks later, your bank will
call and tell you the $30,000 check was bogus and they need their money back
immediately.
You'll be out $7,000. Most likely they'll never send anyone for the
car--face-to-face meetings are too risky for these scumbags.
Mark
> Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have
> had numerous inquiries and received this follow up email the other nite
[quoted text clipped - 42 lines]
> Regards.
> Henry Brown.
Jeff Rice - 16 Jun 2005 12:55 GMT
Worse than that, you just gave them a good e-mail address, and a physical
address.
Used to be they'd just tag your front gate for others to follow...
Now they'll sell your info to fellow thieves.
"Mark Anderson" wrote...
> Of course it's a scam. You'll get a $30,000 cashiers check, you'll
> deposit it, you'll send him $7,000 back and about 2-4 weeks later, your
[quoted text clipped - 51 lines]
>> Regards.
>> Henry Brown.
Tony in Austin - 16 Jun 2005 15:34 GMT
I am no English teacher, but there are some gramer errors in there that
make me think this is not origonating in the U.S.
Tony
Tony in Austin - 16 Jun 2005 15:35 GMT
I am no English teacher, but there are some grammar errors in there
that make me think this is not originating in the U.S.
Tony
Bill Gl;a.s - 16 Jun 2005 14:07 GMT
CAN YOU SPELL RIP OFF?
> Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have had
64daytonaht - 16 Jun 2005 15:51 GMT
Jim,
If, and I say that reluctantly, the fella is on the up and up, then you need
to tell him that as soon as the funds arrive and clear your bank the deal
will be completed. Actually, I'd have the money wired to the nearest
Western Union, as opposed to even giving out a PO Box number.
Under no circumstances give your home address and only a cell phone number.
If it is a hoax, you certainly don't want uninvited guests showing up when
your not home.
Otherwise, ignore the whole thing and don't even respond.
Scams such as these are abundant and getting worse every minute.
Bo
dytnadad@aol.com - 16 Jun 2005 16:33 GMT
BOGUS!!!! If you tell him that you wont take his bad paper for $30,000,
he,ll probably offer to send you cash in the form of 10,000 $3 bills.
HaHaHa. Jim Fowler
> Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have had
> numerous inquiries and received this follow up email the other nite after an
[quoted text clipped - 40 lines]
> Regards.
> Henry Brown.
Terry and Glenda - 16 Jun 2005 18:38 GMT
No doubt whatsoever that this is a scam.
> Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have
> had numerous inquiries and received this follow up email the other nite
[quoted text clipped - 42 lines]
> Regards.
> Henry Brown.
Doug Barisone - 16 Jun 2005 19:15 GMT
TOTAL SCAM.
What happens is this prick sends you a counterfeit check, which you deposit
or cash at your bank. Then you send him $7,000.00. A few days later your
bank discovers the check is fraudulent and you are out $7,000.00!
Doug
> Have had my 63 Avanti R2 4sp listed in Hemmings for the past month. Have
> had numerous inquiries and received this follow up email the other nite
[quoted text clipped - 42 lines]
> Regards.
> Henry Brown.
Bill Gl;a.s - 17 Jun 2005 04:02 GMT
This is a typical scam that originates in Nigeria, and the Bahamas.
Bill
> TOTAL SCAM.
>
[quoted text clipped - 50 lines]
> > Regards.
> > Henry Brown.
Jim D - 17 Jun 2005 06:23 GMT
This type of scam offer comes with greater frequency than if you had run an
ebay auction. When they try this on ebay they quickly get tossed off by the
ebay security people. People I know who list cars (and reasonably expensive
parts) in Hemmings and the Autotrader online, on the Craigslists sites, are
getting INNUDATED with these things. As I have said before, they are using
automated software to generate these bogus offers, so the first email they
send will often mention that they are interested in "your item", or " what
you have offered for sale", or something along those lines. Just so you
aware, some of them now even offer to send US Postal Money Orders (which are
of course, fake). It would be a HUGE risk for anyone in the US to send a
phony Postal M.O., but they are located outside the US.
Some people like to screw around with them, but as someone else posted, that
just lets them know that there is someone who will answer their emails, and
they probably them sell that email address to other scammers as a good
potential "mark".